NHS Logo


In October 2014 the NHS published the Five Year Forward View (5YFV) setting out a new shared vision for the future of the NHS based around new models of care – what were called ‘blueprints’ – needed to address the long-term sustainability of the NHS.

In December 2014 the Dalton Review was published, designed to complement the 5YFV by describing the organisational delivery vehicles that could help the NHS translate the theory into practice.

In January 2015, the NHS invited individual organisations and partnerships to apply to become ‘vanguards’ for the new care models programme, one of the first steps towards delivering the 5YFV and supporting the improvement, standardisation and integration of services.

The 50 vanguard programmes chosen cover the following:

  • Integrated primary and acute care systems: joining up GP, hospital, community and mental health services.
  • Multispecialty community providers: moving specialist care out of hospitals into the community.
  • Urgent and emergency care networks: new approaches to improve the co-ordination of services and reduce pressure on A&E departments.
  • Enhanced health in care homes: offering older people better, joined up health, care and rehabilitation services.
  • Acute care collaborations: linking hospitals together to improve their clinical and financial viability.

Image graphic

PDF download icon

About new care models vanguards